Welcome   |   Greeting   |   Family   |   History   |   Actual   |   Order of St. Henry   |   Vision   |   Archive   |  Contact   |   Legal Notice 

 
 
   
   
 
         
         
 
 

 

 

 

 

Dear Visitors,

Welcome to the official website of the Royal House of Wettin! Here, you have the opportunity to experience a fascinating world of history. Our ancestors’ first marks can be found in the 9th century. Officially, the Wettin history starts in 1089: In this year, the Emperor invested Henry of Eilenburg with the Margraviate of Meissen as a fief in order to protect the Eastern border of the Holy Roman Empire. Further important landmarks of our family’s history are: In 1423, being rewarded for the defence against the Hussite invasion of the Holy Roman Empire, the Wettins acquired the Saxon electoral dignity when the Dukes of Saxe-Wittenberg of the House of Ascania died out; in 1635 the Wettins received the Margraviates of the Upper and parts of the Lower Lusatia as a fief as reward for their loyalty to the Emperor and the Empire during the Thirty Years’ War; from 1697 till 1763 August the Strong (as Elector of Saxony: Frederick Augustus I) and his son Augustus III (as Elector of Saxony: Frederick Augustus II) were Kings of Poland.

Although having assumed the title of King of Saxony in 1806 and having received the Grand Duchy of Warsaw from 1807 until 1815, both at the instigation of Napoleon, Elector Frederick Augustus III put up active resistance against the dissolution of the Holy Roman Empire during the Napoleonic Wars. One century later, Frederick Augustus III abdicated “ad personam” as King on 13 November 1918, after the end of World War I. By this, 829 years of the reigning Royal House in Saxony came to an end. Our history is the history of numerous men and women who fought for a big part of Europe and tried to reach the best for people and country.

Having been appointed to protect the Eastern border of the Holy Roman Empire in the beginning, an insistent and far-sighted governmental policy led to a slow, but steady rise from the Margraves of Meissen to Dukes of Saxony, Electors – who were entitled to elect the Emperor – and finally to the Kings of Saxony. Awesome epithets have been granted to the early Wettins, e.g. “the Rich”, “the Bitten”, “the Illustrious”, “the Peaceful”, “the Courageous“ and – well-known until today – „the Strong”. The famous “Procession of Princes” at Dresden Castle gives an impressive image of these important rulers.

When the old regime had broken down after World War I, King Frederick Augustus III went into exile to Silesia. In the 1920s, the last King’s sons longed for a new start in their ancestral homeland. This became possible due to the conclusion of the State Treaty of 1924. By this agreement, assets were returned to the family and brought together in the “Verein Haus Wettin e.V.” (House of Wettin Association). E.g. Moritzburg Castle was recompensed to the family. In Dresden, Margrave Friedrich Christian built Wachwitz Castle on the king’s vineyard. He decided to bear the old title of the Margrave of Meissen in order to mark the particular Head of the Royal House of Wettin A.L. During the Third Empire, the family members put up active resistance against the dictatorial regime. In this context, Margrave Friedrich Christian’s first son, Prince Maria Emanuel, who became Head of the Royal House after his father’s death in 1968, was sentenced to death by the Volksgerichshof (People’s Court of Justice) in 1944, but fortunately could escape his fate. After the horrible bombardments of Dresden in 1945, the family was forced by the Wehrmacht to leave its homeland. Family members settled down in Austria, Switzerland, Ireland, and Bavaria, later in Canada and Mexico and began a new life. After the Peaceful Revolution in 1989, the family members had the long awaited opportunity to travel to their ancestral home and later even to settle down in Dresden.

It may sound outmoded to a lot of people to stress values and norms resulting from the past in this day and age; it may seem strange to devote oneself to the conservation of tradition with addiction and passion. But if we look back on over 900 years of family tradition, we are more than grateful that our ancestors considered traditional values again and again up to the present day. The extraordinary collections, Saxony museums can provide, are the best indicator for what the people of Saxony and its former ruling house could accomplish together throughout their alive history.

Looking past as well as the awareness of the present means the challenge to us, to do justice to the Saxon resp. Wettin heritage. Together, we have to succeed in conserving and forming a Saxony in Europe for our children and children’s children, which they will remember with thankfulness.

 

Prince Alexander of Saxony
Duke of Saxony

 

Princess Gisela of Saxony Duchess of Saxony

Margrave of Meissen

 

Margravine of Meissen

 
 
 

 


 

Av. de Sully 102 · CH-1814 La Tour de Peilz · Tel: +49 (0) 351 - 810 62 23 · Fax: +49 (0) 3212 - 119 98 33
E-Mail: info@markgraf-von-meissen.de

Willkommen   |   Grusswort   |   Familie   |   Geschichte   |   Aktuelles   |   St. Heinrichs Orden   |   Vision   |   Archiv   |  Kontakt   |   Impressum 

 
 
   
   
 
         
         
 
 

 

 

 

 

Liebe Leserinnen und liebe Leser,


herzlich willkommen auf dem Internetauftritt der Familie Wettin! Sie werden eine faszinierende Welt der Geschichte erleben können. Früheste Spuren der ersten Vorfahren finden sich im IX. Jahrhundert. Offiziell beginnt die Geschichte der Wettiner im Jahre 1089 mit der dauerhaften Belehnung Heinrichs von Eilenburg mit der Markgrafschaft Meissen durch den Kaiser zum Schutze der östlichen Grenze des Heiligen Römischen Reiches. Weitere besondere Wegmarken dieser Geschichte waren mit 1423 die Belehnung mit der Kurwürde nach dem Aussterben der Herzöge von Sachsen-Wittenberg aus dem Hause Askanien als Anerkennung für die Abwehr der Hussiteneinfälle in das Reich; 1635 Belehnung mit der Oberlausitz und Teilen der Niederlausitz als Belohnung für die Treue dem Kaiser und dem Reich gegenüber während des Dreißigjährigen Krieges; 1697 bis 1763 Erlangung der polnischen Königskrone durch August den Starken (als Kurfürst von Sachsen: Friedrich August I.) und seinen Sohn August III (als Kurfürst von Sachsen: Friedrich August II.).

Während der Napoleonischen Kriege leistete Kurfürst Friedrich August III. aktiven Widerstand gegen die Auflösung des Hl. Römischen Reiches, obgleich er von Napoleon 1806 die Königswürde für Sachsen erhielt und ihm von 1807 bis 1815 das Großherzogtum Warschau übertragen wurde. Ein Jahrhundert später dankte Friedrich August III. nach dem Ende des Ersten Weltkriegs am 13. November 1918 als König "ad personam" ab, damit endete die 829 jährige Geschichte des regierenden Hauses in Sachsen. Unsere Geschichte ist die Historie zahlreicher Männer und Frauen, die sich für diesen Teil Europas eingesetzt und versucht haben, das Beste für Menschen und Land zu erreichen.

Anfangs zum Schutz der östlichen Reichsgrenzen eingesetzt, führte eine beharrliche und weitsichtige Regierungspolitik zu einem langsamen, aber stetigen Aufstieg von den Markgrafen von Meissen zu den Herzögen von Sachsen und Kurfürsten - jenen sieben Großen des Reiches, welche den Kaiser wählten – bis hin zu den Königen von Sachsen. Schmuckvolle Namen wurden den frühen Wettinern verliehen, wie der "Reiche", der "Gebissene", der "Erlauchte", der "Friedsame", der "Beherzte" und, besonders bekannt bis heute, der "Starke". Ein eindrucksvolles Bild dieser bedeutenden Herrscher liefert heute noch der berühmte Fürstenzug am Dresdener Residenzschloss.

Als nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg die alte Ordnung zusammenbrach, begab sich König Friedrich August III. in das schlesische Exil nach Schloss Sibyllenort. In den 20er Jahren bemühten sich die Söhne des letzten Königs um einen Neubeginn im Land der Vorfahren. Dieser gelang mit Abschluss des Staatsvertrages von 1924, der Vermögenswerte an die Familie zurückführte, welche im Verein "Haus Wettin e.V." zusammengeführt wurden. Schloss Moritzburg zum Beispiel wurde der Familie zurückerstattet. In Dresden erbaute Markgraf Friedrich Christian von Meissen auf dem Königsweinberg das Schloss Wachwitz. Den alten Namen des "Markgrafen von Meissen" hatte er ausgewählt, um künftig den jeweiligen Chef des Hauses Wettin Albertinische Linie zu kennzeichnen. Während des III. Reiches leisteten die Familienmitglieder des Hauses aktiven Widerstand gegen das diktatorische Regime. Der älteste Sohn des Markgrafen Friedrich Christian, Prinz Maria Emanuel, und nachmalige Markgraf Maria Emanuel wurde 1944 in diesem Zusammenhang vom Volksgerichtshof zunächst zum Tode verurteilt, konnte aber glücklicherweise diesem Schicksal entrinnen. 1945 wurde die Familie nach dem schrecklichen Bombardement Dresdens durch die Wehrmacht gezwungen, die Heimat zu verlassen. In Österreich, in der Schweiz, Irland, Bayern später dann in Kanada und Mexiko ließen sich einzelne Familienmitglieder nieder und begannen ein neues Leben. Nach der friedlichen Revolution von 1989 ergab sich für die Familie die lang ersehnte Gelegenheit, wieder die Heimat der Vorfahren zu bereisen und sich später sogar in Dresden niederzulassen. 

Es mag für viele Menschen heute antiquiert klingen, Werte und Normen der Vergangenheit in der Gegenwart zu betonen, es mag seltsam erscheinen, sich mit Hingabe und Leidenschaft der Bewahrung von Traditionen zu widmen. Schauen wir zurück auf über 900 Jahre Familiengeschichte, so sind wir aber mehr als dankbar dafür, dass unsere Vorfahren sich ihrer Traditionen und Werte immer wieder aufs Neue besannen und diese so bis in unsere Tage fortwirken. Die herausragenden Sammlungen der Museen zu Dresden sind beste Botschafter dafür, was Sachsen und sein ehemaliges Herrscherhaus in ihrer vitalen Geschichte gemeinsam zu vollbringen vermochten.

Der Rückblick in die Vergangenheit und das Bewusstsein der Gegenwart stellen für uns eine Herausforderung dar, dem sächsisch/wettinischen Erbe gerecht zu werden. Es muss uns deshalb gemeinsam gelingen, für unsere Kinder und Kindeskinder ein Sachsen in Europa zu erhalten und weiter für die Zukunft zu gestalten, dessen sich auch kommende Generationen mit Dankbarkeit erinnern.

 

Alexander Prinz von Sachsen
Herzog zu Sachsen
  Gisela Prinzessin von Sachsen Herzogin zu Sachsen
Markgraf von Meissen   Markgräfin von Meissen

 

 
 
 

 


 

Av. de Sully 102 · CH-1814 La Tour de Peilz · Tel: +49 (0) 351 - 810 62 23 · Fax: +49 (0) 3212 - 119 98 33
E-Mail: info@markgraf-von-meissen.de