Welcome   |   Greeting   |   Family   |   History   |   Actual   |   Order of St. Henry   |   Vision   |   Archive   |  Contact   |   Legal Notice 

 
 
   
   
   
 
 

     

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Margrave of Meissen as Head of the Royal House

On 13 November 1918 the last King of Saxony, Friedrich August III, abdicated and the monarchy in Saxony was abolished. After his death, his second-born son, Prince Friedrich Christian Duke of Saxony, succeeded him as Head of the Royal House of Wettin Albertine Line (A.L.); the first-born son, Crown Prince Georg, had been ordained as Jesuit priest in 1924. Prince Friedrich Christian decided to bear the title of the Margrave of Meissen in order to mark the particular Head of the House of Wettin A.L. After his death in 1968, his oldest son Margrave Maria Emanuel continued this tradition.

The role as Head of the House has its origin in the House Laws of the formerly reigning Royal Houses. The Royal House Law of Saxony of 1837 named the particular king to be the Head of the family, equipped with widespread competences (§§ 1 lit. a, 4). After the monarchy had been abolished, Friedrich August III, together with all the agnatic members of the Royal Family who lived at that time, founded a family association, the “Verein Haus Wettin Albertinische Linie e.V.” (House of Wettin Albertine Line Association). The family association’s objectives were defined in its statute of 1922, with addenda of 1925 and 1927. According to this statute, the family association has, inter alia, to preserve the family’s honour and tradition (§ 1 (1)). Therefore, the family association’s statute is a valid substitution of the former House Law of 1837. The chairman and thus, Head of the House, was in his lifetime Friedrich August III, after his death the particular chairman is succeeded as such by his agnatic relative who would have been heir of the Throne according to the former House Law of 1837 (§ 18 (1)). An alteration is that, according to § 5 (3), the membership in the association and thereby, in the House of Wettin, can be acquired by adoption by a family association’s member if the other members agree. Being a fully-fledged member of the family association, the adopted son of an agnate is eligible to become chairman and Head of the House (§ 18 (1), (3)).

As Margrave Maria Emanuel and his only brother, Doctor Prince Albert Prince of Saxony Duke of Saxony, had no biological issue, Margrave Maria Emanuel as Head of the House of Wettin decided in 1997 to propose his nephew Prince Alexander of Saxe-Gessaphe to the other family association’s members as his immediate successor as chairman and thereby, Head of the House of Wettin. He made use of the possibility provided by § 18 of the family association’s statute, which is to arrange the succession with consent of all family association’s members.
By a unanimous, notarially certified agreement of 14 May 1997, all members of the association, in person or validly represented , gave their consent to the Margrave’s decision. In execution of this agreement and according to the family association’s statute, Margrave Maria Emanuel legally adopted his nephew Prince Alexander of Saxe-Gessaphe on 26 September 1999, from adoption known as Prince Alexander of Saxony Duke of Saxony. On 23 July 2012, Margrave Maria Emanuel died and Alexander of Saxony succeeded him. One-sided revocations of the agreement of 14 May 1997, which are claimed by some people, are irrelevant because they don’t have any effect, neither according to the family association’s statute nor according to German civil law. Therefore, Prince Alexander of Saxony is entitled to bear the title Margrave of Meissen and to exercise the hereto connected functions as Head of the House and chairman.


 

TOP  
 

Av. de Sully 102 · CH-1814 La Tour de Peilz · Tel: +49 (0) 351 - 810 62 23 · Fax: +49 (0) 3212 - 119 98 33
E-Mail: info@markgraf-von-meissen.de

Willkommen   |   Grusswort   |   Familie   |   Geschichte   |   Aktuelles   |   St. Heinrichs Orden   |   Vision   |   Archiv   |  Kontakt   |   Impressum 

 
 
   
   
   
 
 

     

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Titel und Rolle des Markgrafen von Meissen

Am 13. November 1918 endete mit der Abdankung des letzten Königs Friedrich August III. die Monarchie in Sachsen. Nach dem Tode Friedrich Augusts III. trat dessen zweitgeborener Sohn Prinz Friedrich Christian von Sachsen, Herzog zu Sachsen, dessen Nachfolge als Chef des Hauses Wettin Albertinische Linie (A.L.) an; der erstgeborene Sohn Kronprinz Georg war 1924 zum Priester geweiht worden und in den Jesuitenorden eingetreten. Prinz Friedrich Christian entschloss sich, den alten Titel des Markgrafen von Meissen anzunehmen, um dadurch künftig den jeweiligen Chef des Hauses Wettin A.L. zu kennzeichnen. Nach seinem Tod 1968 führte sein ältester Sohn Markgraf Maria Emanuel diese Tradition fort.

Die Rolle des Hauschefs hat ihren Ursprung in den Hausgesetzen des 19. Jahrhunderts der vormals in Deutschland regierenden Häuser. Das Königlich Sächsische Hausgesetz von 1837 erklärte den jeweiligen König zum Familienhaupt mit umfassenden Befugnissen (§§ 1 lit. a, 4). Nach dem Ende der Monarchie gründete König Friedrich August III. zusammen mit den damals lebenden Mitgliedern des Hauses den Verein Wettin Albertinische Linie e.V. Dieser Verein hatte gem. seiner Satzung von 1922 mit Nachträgen von 1925 und 1927 u.a. das Ziel, die Familienehre und -tradition zu wahren (§ 1 Abs. 1). Damit sollte diese Satzung an die Stelle des mit dem Ende der Monarchie außer Kraft getretenen Hausgesetzes von 1837 treten. Vereinsvorsitzender und damit Hauschef war zu seinen Lebzeiten Friedrich August III., danach sollte dieses Amt nach den Regeln des ehemaligen Hausgesetzes von 1837 auf den danach jeweils „zur Thronfolge berufen gewesenen Agnaten“ übergehen (§ 18 Abs. 1). Als Neuerung sieht § 5 Abs. 3 der Satzung die Möglichkeit vor, die Mitgliedschaft im Verein und damit im Haus Wettin A.L. infolge Adoption durch ein Vereinsmitglied zu erwerben, sofern alle anderen Mitglieder dem zustimmen. Als vollwertiges Vereinsmitglied steht dem Adoptivsohn eines Agnaten auch die Möglichkeit offen, Vereinsvorsitzender und Hauschef zu werden (§ 18 Abs. 1, 3).

Da Markgraf Maria Emanuel von Meissen und dessen einziger Bruder, Dr. Albert Prinz von Sachsen Herzog zu Sachsen, keine eigenen Kinder hatten, entschloss sich Markgraf Maria Emanuel 1997 als Chef des Hauses Wettin A.L., den Vereinsmitgliedern seinen Neffen Alexander Prinz von Sachsen-Gessaphe zu seinem unmittelbaren Nachfolger als Chef des Hauses und Vereinsvorsitzenden vorzuschlagen. Er machte dabei von der Möglichkeit Gebrauch, welche ihm die Vereinssatzung des Hauses Wettin A.L. in ihrem § 18 eröffnete, mit Zustimmung sämtlicher Vereinsmitglieder die Nachfolge zu regeln.
In einer einstimmigen, notariell beglaubigten Übereinkunft vom 14. Mai 1997 stimmten alle Mitglieder des Vereins Haus Wettin A.L. persönlich oder wirksam vertreten zu . In Vollzug dieses Beschlusses adoptierte Markgraf Maria Emanuel am 26.9.1999 gem. der Vereinssatzung seinen Neffen Alexander Prinz von Sachsen-Gessaphe, der seither den Namen Prinz von Sachsen Herzog zu Sachsen führt. Mit dem Tode des Markgrafen Maria Emanuel von Meissen am 23. Juli 2012 ist Prinz Alexander ihm als Markgraf von Meissen nachgefolgt. Von einigen Personen behauptete einseitige Widerrufserklärungen der Vereinbarung vom 14. Mai 1997 haben weder nach der Vereinssatzung noch nach bürgerlichem Recht irgendeine Wirkung und sind daher irrelevant. Prinz Alexander von Sachsen, Herzog zu Sachsen, führt den Titel des Markgrafen von Meissen und übt die damit verbundene Funktion als Hauschef und Vereinsvorsitzender daher hausrechtlich zu Recht aus.

 


 

TOP  

 

Av. de Sully 102 · CH-1814 La Tour de Peilz · Tel: +49 (0) 351 - 810 62 23 · Fax: +49 (0) 3212 - 119 98 33
E-Mail: info@markgraf-von-meissen.de